An update; a job as a real life scientist, a house and nationwide lockdown?!

An update; a job as a real life scientist, a house and nationwide lockdown?!

Hi all,

My, my it has been a while. Before writing this blog post I read my last blog post from over a year ago, I was still at university and little did I know I had the roughest few months ahead of me. 5 years of university took a toll on not on my bank balance, but also my mental health. Luckily I can say now I came off ok, after some support, I maintained my 2 part-time jobs and finished my degree with a 2:1 0.2% away from a First but we won’t hang onto that .

Back then I couldn’t have imagine how much things would change within a year. I managed to bag the job I dreamed off, swapped up my old crappy car for a new one, part owned a beautiful puppy and most importantly bought a house with my partner (?!). Every now and again I have a pinch-myself moment because I have come very far and done pretty well considering that this time last year my best achievements was not contracting some kind of diseases from the disgusting shared flat I was living in.

Starting a job and buying a house within a few months of each other was a lot; I cried a lot and thought about giving up as I find making new friends difficult and found the prospect of adulting enough to buy a house overwhelming. But here we are, sat in my bed of the room I own and couldn’t be happier…

That’s mostly how I felt until 2020 hit us all like a tonne of bricks. As I type this we are currently in the middle (hopefully) of a global crisis; a pandemic of Coronavirus. As I speak the government have enforced a national lockdown; we are only allowed out for essential shopping, exercise and essential work. It’s been the craziest few weeks and I don’t think anyone could have imagined thing to turn out how they have. It an awful time as the amount of fatal cases are released daily and the figures are showing worrying trends but at the same time I have witnesses acts of kindness I had forgotten were possible. A few nights ago the UK had a a minute of clapping at our door stops to show appreciation for our NHS staff who are continuing to work to help people during this pandemic and honestly, it made me well up. People are spending time at home with their loved ones and helping out the vulnerable. It’s times like these we must appreciate the small positives.

This may be my only blog post for another year because honestly barely anybody reads them but even if that is the case I look forward to seeing how much may change in another year (and hopefully life will have returned back to it’s beautiful chaotic self).

Until then,

Tam

x

Leave a comment